Summer Reading and Book Clubs

HBW’s students will be reading like crazy this summer!  We are registering for the summer reading program offered by Arlington Public Library.  In fact, on June 9, Anne is coming from Cherrydale Library to register both students and adults!  Free popcorn!

Students are also encouraged to sign out books from our school library (starting during JuneTime; checkouts will not be due till Sept. 8.) We encourage students to make use of our massive e-book and e-audiobook collection, too.

Students are encouraged to find friends with whom to make regular visits to the library (“each Thursday at 10 am,” for example) and form a summer book club.  Maggie can support such efforts with the resources below and using the Recommended Reading linked at left under “What to Read Next.”  Our first meeting at school to organize your members is May 26.  We’ll do it again on June 2.

Planning for a Successful Summer Book Club:

  1. You can have your first meeting before summer starts in the library at lunchtime, if you like. Fridays are great for that.  Want Maggie to advertise it? Pop in to make the arrangements.
  2. It’s helpful if you pick a day and time of the week when you’ll meet during the summer and put it onto your calendars (Every other Thursday all summer at 10 am?  Fridays, noon each week in July?)
  3. Share contact information with one another.
  4. Pick a location where you’ll meet (at the public library? at Dunkin’ Donuts? at specific homes?)
  5. Consider picking a theme that would draw in like-minded readers.  (For example:  “Fans of Fantasy and Sci Fi” or “World War II Fiction for middle schoolers.”)
  6. You want to give your members the chance to nominate and then vote on the books for discussion if you’re all to read and discuss the same title.  Alternatively, you can gather regularly simply to share on WHATEVER books you are reading.
  7. Make a goal for your group:  “We’ll read and discuss 3 books by Sept. 4.”
  8. Give members enough time to find the books in the library or order them for delivery.
  9. Take turns “running” the meeting if you think people will enjoy structure by applying ideas such as these Tips for Book Discussions.  (It often helps to think of questions to ask before the meeting starts.) If one person is “hosting” the meeting and might get distracted with such duties, consider having someone else run the actual discussion.
  10. If the group agrees, open your discussions to parents and friends to participate.
  11. Last, but vital: It can be fun to put names on the schedule who who is bringing “treats” if, for example, you want to have snacks each meeting.

 


Additional Suggested Reading Lists