Book Clubs

Jump in and out of these book groups any time of the year because you always multiply the pleasure of your reading by sharing it with others. Will you be a leader? (Seriously, your librarian Maggie can tackle almost all of the logistics, so simply consider the tips at the base of this page, choose the theme and determine the dates. It’s easy!) Student leaders have the opportunity to recruit new members if they contribute to HIVE’s anticipated Activity Fair in late September/Early October, so get ideas from Maggie to promote your club, and go to the HIVE meetings each week to get ready.

2022-2023 Reading (and such) Groups:

Brownies N Books is an occasional offering during I blocks. Maggie bakes brownies. Students and teachers share information about a great book that they love. Discussion opportunities may arise, and students may possibly choose to read the title together for a follow-up meeting. See the schedule and check back often.

Middle School TAB – our BIGGEST book club for middle schoolers. Details.

Anime Club – Monday I-Blocks in Library classroom led by Megan. See survey link on library home page. This group promotes Anime and Manga.

Future Problem Solvers – With a STEM focus, we examine together resources that have been pulled together to support club participants in this year’s Future Problem Solving competition run by VAFPS.. Any student can join the club led by Nicola whether you are registered for the competition or not. It meets I-blocks on alternate Fridays. Library bulletin board has the schedule. Maggie can answer your questions in the library.

Grading for Equity – A set of teachers is reading the book by Joe Feldman for discussion of how to apply concepts to our practice. See Liz Waters for details.

High School Book Club – Established by Town Meeting this year, meets regularly in Catherine’s room.

Not the Classics HBW Book Club– bringing adults and older students together and led by teacher Jennifer Goen with Zoom and in-person 7  pm evening sessions. Get the Zoom meeting link from JG in room 402 and ask for advice as several books contain strong content (direct reference to sexual violence) and are for mature readers, only.

Oct. 26 at HBW: Clap When you Land by Elizabeth Acevedo, Nov. 30 (Zoom): Firekeepers Daughter by Angeline Boulley; January 25 at HBW: Olga Dies Dreaming by Xochitl Gonzalez; February 22 (Zoom): The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett; March 29 at HBW: All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir; April 26 (Zoom): Sharks in the Time of Saviors by Kawai Strong Washburn; May 31 at HBW: On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong.

High School TAB – First Tuesday all school year, 5 pm, Arlington Central Library, coordinated by Arlington Public Library. Maggie can put you in contact to ensure they order pizza for you.

LGBTQ – 3rd Tuesday each month, 5pm, Arlington Central Library, coordinated by Arlington Public Library. Maggie can put you in contact to ensure they order pizza for you.

Past Book Club Initiatives:

(To give you an idea of success stories!)

E.L. Book Club for high schoolers learning English as a Language. 3 pm most Mondays. Free books for participants. We’re currently discussion Furia by Mendez. We meet in MS Team “Meetings in the Library” and have a discussion board inside Canvas’s course called “Meetings in in the Library.”  E-mail Maggie the Librarian for help connecting.

High School Reading Club – run by 9th grader Julia H.S. They meet the 3rd Monday of each month from 3:00 – 4:00 pm in the HIVE channel in a room called “HS Book Club.”

Japanime – contact Alessandra or Eli to learn more about this super successful club this year. Lovers of graphic novels really enjoy this creative group of students!

Andrew Luck Book Club – Not just for football lovers like former quarterback Andrew Luck.  Evan has helped lead this effort in the past. Let Maggie know if you want to help him give it steam this year. He can help you connect to Andrew Luck’s picks for each month, great discussion, the Twitter feed and more.

Allies Against Discrimination: Titles will be selected to give voice to diverse and often under-represented perspectives. Readings about or featuring disabled peoples, persons with autism and other learning differences, and racial and ethnic minorities get highlighted. It’s a club that can examine opportunity gaps related to gender, sexual orientation, religion, age and economic status and/or race.

Confronting Racism:  Works by contemporary award-winning thought leaders will be introduced and discussed to understand how they are increasing representation of People of Color in American culture:  Angie Thomas, Jason Reynolds, Ibram X. Kendi, Jeff Chang, Colson Whitehead, Jesmyn Ward, Trevor Noah, Tiffany D. Jackson, Ta-Nehisi Coates and others.  The group can choose a non-fiction or fiction focus.

Fierce!  Focus on Feminism – Issues confronting women provide a focus. Erin, a senior, has led this club in the past.

Globe Trotters – If travel, history and different cultures (here in the US and around the world) fascinate you, come to promote or develop your cultural insights. We’ll share books, images and articles that develop multicultural understanding. (Example.) If you’ll be traveling soon, this reading group might just help you plan and get more out of your next trip!  Just wait till you see what food or recipes we share!

LGBTQ – 3rd Tuesday each month, 5pm, Arlington Central Library, coordinated by Arlington Public Library.

Tawk Politics – It won’t be long till the next election. Gather to hear a variety of political viewpoints and share articles, essays, videos of interest as well as titles recently published by influential political voices. You might even walk away with tips to help with a campaign.

Lyrical Works – You might be a budding poet, spoken word performer or song-writer. Get inspiration from the resources we have to share such as contest dates, novels in verse, and our poetry collections.

 


Planning for a Successful Book Club (and helpful to summertime book clubs):

  1. Consider doing a “soft launch” at a Brownies n Books session. Plan ahead and get on that schedule with Maggie.
  2. Attend Town Meeting to announce your book club and get a vote of approval if it is a brand new club.That’s also where you…
  3. Start by announcing and inviting people to an interest meeting. State who your faculty sponsor is. Want Maggie to advertise it? Get into contact.  A posting on the scrolly or inside Canvas is achieved by using the “Spread the Word” link on H-B’s home page, and Maggie can help you accomplish the steps.
  4. It’s helpful if you pick a day and time of the week when you’ll meet and get it onto calendars (Every other Thursday all winter at I Block? Tuesdays, noon each week all first semester? Figure out if people want to meet weekly or monthly or set up a schedule for every six weeks.)
  5. Share contact information among your participants. Spend enough time to get to know names and interests.
  6. Pick a location where you’ll meet. Library is good, but you can think outside the box: online in the library’s “MS Team” location? –at Dunkin’ Donuts? –at specific homes?)
  7. Develop your theme that would draw in like-minded readers.  (For example:  “Fans of Fantasy and Sci Fi” or “World War II Fiction for high schoolers.”  Use it to have everyone invite a friend to the next meeting.)
  8. You want to give your members the chance to nominate and then vote on the books or articles for discussion if you’re all to read and discuss the same title.  Alternatively, you can gather regularly simply to share on WHATEVER books or articles or poetry you are reading.
  9. Your group can hold yourselves accountable by scheduling to offer part of a Brownies n Books session to promote the titles your group has enjoyed.
  10. Make a goal for your group:  “We’ll read and discuss 3 books by Dec. 4.”
  11. Give members enough time to find the books or articles in the library or order them for delivery.
  12. Take turns “running” the meetings if you think people will enjoy structure by applying ideas such as these Tips for Book Discussions.  (It often helps to think of questions to ask before the meeting starts.) If one person is “hosting” the meeting and might get distracted with such duties, consider having someone else run the actual discussion.
  13. If the group agrees, open your discussions to parents and friends to participate.
  14. Last, but vital when meeting in person: It can be fun to put names on the schedule to divide up responsibilities: who who is bringing “treats” if, for example, you want to have snacks each meeting.  “If you feed them, they will come.” Who is going to prepare at least 3 good questions for discussion?  Who will find 3 amazing quotes for discussion? Who will share a link to author information or a video /author talk that the author has at YouTube?

See “What to Read Next” for book recommendations.