Book Clubs

Jump in and out of these book groups any time of the year because you always multiply the pleasure of your reading by sharing it with others. Will you be a leader? (Seriously, your librarian Maggie can tackle almost all of the logistics, so simply consider the tips at the base of this page, choose the theme and determine the dates. It’s easy!) Student leaders have the opportunity to recruit new members if they contribute to HIVE’s anticipated Activity Fair in late September/Early October, so get ideas from Maggie to promote your club, and go to the HIVE meetings each week to get ready.

2020-2021 Book Clubs:

(This list will grow depending on the leadership interests of our students.)

E.L. Book Club for high schoolers learning English as a Language. 3 pm most Mondays. Free books for participants. We’re currently discussion Furia by Mendez. We meet in MS Team “Meetings in the Library” and have a discussion board inside Canvas’s course called “Meetings in in the Library.”  E-mail Maggie the Librarian for help connecting.

Middle School TAB – our BIGGEST book club for middle schoolers. Details.

High School Reading Club – run by 9th grader Julia H.S. They meet the 3rd Monday of each month from 3:00 – 4:00 pm in the HIVE channel in a room called “HS Book Club.”

Read about Equity and Anti-Racism – This is a collaborative project at H-B among students and staff leading discussions! Would you be willing to discuss a chapter or and article or an essay or a whole book from the following set of books? They have a lot of energy behind them at H-B. Watch this space for discussion dates and join whichever session you like.

Read about Equity with H-B and watch the library's home page for opportunities to discuss the following books: THIS BOOK IS ANTI-RACIST, STAMPED, WE GON' BE ALRIGHT, WHY ARE ALL THE BLACK KIDS SITTING TOGETHER IN THE CAFETERIA?, STAMPED FROM THE BEGINNING, THE WHITE WOMEN'S GUIDE TO TEACHING BLACK BOYS, BETWEEN THE WORLD AND ME, WHITE FRAGILITY, THICK, SO YOU WANT TO TALK ABOUT RACE?

High School TAB – Historically the 1st Tuesdays all school year, 5 pm, Arlington Central Library, coordinated by Arlington Public Library. They are meeting online during the pandemic.

Japanime – contact Alessandra or Eli to learn more about this super successful club this year. Lovers of graphic novels really enjoy this creative group of students!

Past book clubs give you some inspiration:

Andrew Luck Book Club – Not just for football lovers like former quarterback Andrew Luck.  Evan has helped lead this effort in the past. Let Maggie know if you want to help him give it steam this year. He can help you connect to Andrew Luck’s picks for each month, great discussion, the Twitter feed and more.

Allies Against Discrimination: Titles will be selected to give voice to diverse and often under-represented perspectives. Readings about or featuring disabled peoples, persons with autism and other learning differences, and racial and ethnic minorities get highlighted. It’s a club that can examine opportunity gaps related to gender, sexual orientation, religion, age and economic status.

Confronting Racism:  Works by contemporary award-winning thought leaders will be introduced and discussed to understand how they are increasing representation of People of Color in American culture:  Angie Thomas, Jason Reynolds, Ibram X. Kendi, Jeff Chang, Colson Whitehead, Jesmyn Ward, Trevor Noah, Tiffany D. Jackson, Ta-Nehisi Coates and others.  The group can choose a non-fiction or fiction focus.  (Scroll down to a sample “informational blurb.”)

Fierce!  Focus on Feminism – Issues confronting women provide a focus. Erin, a senior, has led this club in the past.

Globe Trotters – If travel, history and different cultures (here in the US and around the world) fascinate you, come to promote or develop your cultural insights. We’ll share books, images and articles that develop multicultural understanding. (Example.) If you’ll be traveling soon, this reading group might just help you plan and get more out of your next trip!  Just wait till you see what food or recipes we share!

LGBTQ – You have two options:  3rd Tuesday each month, 5pm, Arlington Central Library, coordinated by Arlington Public Library. See Alessandra to join H-B’s club to see if it can meet virtually.

Tawk Politics – It won’t be long till the next election. Gather to hear a variety of political viewpoints and share articles, essays, videos of interest as well as titles recently published by influential political voices. You might even walk away with tips to help with a campaign.

STEM and Future Problem Solving – Topics and short readings for 2020-2021 are: Youth in Competitive Sports, Wearable Technology, Human Environmental Impact and Personalized Medicine

Lyrical Works – You might be a budding poet, spoken word performer or song-writer. Get inspiration from the resources we have to share such as contest dates, novels in verse, and our poetry collections.

 


Sample “Blurb” that Maggie can publish on these pages:

Delta Force Book Club focuses on readings that can promote discussion related to the Black Lives Matter movement. We read together White Fragility: Why it’s so Hard for White People to Talk about Racism by Robin DiAngelo (2018) and met virtually in late July.

Update: Our next book discussion is now tentatively set for Oct. 8, 2020, 7pm Eastern on  How to be an Anti-Racist by Ibram X. Kendi, 2019. Here is the meeting link: xxxxxxx

Depending upon the interests expressed by members of the group, additional discussions can center around…

Guiding questions:

  1. Can you share what motivated you to join our discussion tonight? Have you had a moment or experience that especially compels you to do race work?
  2. Would you be willing to share a quote from the work that felt like it read you?  Did you see yourself anywhere in the reading?
  3. In your own specific life and walk, does the reading suggest a specific course of action whereby you are able to help society make progress? This can be small or big. I.e., how do we give legs to new understandings?  Would you like Delta Force to hold you accountable to that work in any way?

Thanks to Katie for assembling these materials that extended our understanding of WHITE FRAGILITY:


Planning for a Successful Book Club:

  1. Start by announcing and inviting people to an interest meeting in the library’s Microsoft Team called “Meetings in the Library.” Want Maggie to advertise it? Get into contact.  Casey could place a posting at everyone’s dashboard in Canvas.
  2. It’s helpful if you pick a day and time of the week when you’ll meet and get it onto calendars (Every other Thursday all winter at I Block? Tuesdays, noon each week all first semester? Figure out if people want to meet weekly or monthly or set up a schedule for every six weeks.)
  3. Share contact information with one another. Spend enough time to get to know names and interests.
  4. Pick a location where you’ll meet (online in the library’s “MS Team” location? –at Dunkin’ Donuts? –at specific homes?)
  5. Develop your theme that would draw in like-minded readers.  (For example:  “Fans of Fantasy and Sci Fi” or “World War II Fiction for high schoolers.”  Use it to have everyone invite a friend to the next meeting.)
  6. You want to give your members the chance to nominate and then vote on the books or articles for discussion if you’re all to read and discuss the same title.  Alternatively, you can gather regularly simply to share on WHATEVER books or articles or poetry you are reading.
  7. Make a goal for your group:  “We’ll read and discuss 3 books by Dec. 4.”
  8. Give members enough time to find the books or articles in the library or order them for delivery.
  9. Take turns “running” the meetings if you think people will enjoy structure by applying ideas such as these Tips for Book Discussions.  (It often helps to think of questions to ask before the meeting starts.) If one person is “hosting” the meeting and might get distracted with such duties, consider having someone else run the actual discussion.
  10. If the group agrees, open your discussions to parents and friends to participate.
  11. Last, but vital when meeting in person: It can be fun to put names on the schedule who who is bringing “treats” if, for example, you want to have snacks each meeting.  “If you feed them, they will come.”

See “What to Read Next” for book recommendations.