Book Clubs

Jump in and out of these book groups any time of the year because you always multiply the pleasure of your reading by sharing it with others. Student leaders will help plan the schedule, make sure we have food to share, and decide what titles to read. Will you be a leader? (Seriously, your librarian Maggie can tackle almost all of the logistics, so simply consider these tips, choose the theme and determine the dates. It’s easy!) Student leaders have the opportunity to recruit new members if they sign up to have a spot at the HIVE Activity Fair in late September, so get ideas from Maggie to promote your club, and go to the HIVE meetings each Monday to get ready.

2019-2020 Book Clubs:

(This list will grow!  Many clubs will get more steam during )

Andrew Luck Book Club – Not just for football lovers like former quarterback Andrew Luck.  Evan has helped lead this effort in the past. Let Maggie know if you want to help him give it steam this year. He can help you connect to Andrew Luck’s picks for each month, great discussion, the Twitter feed and more.

Middle School TAB – our BIGGEST book club for middle schoolers. Details.

Allies Against Discrimination: Titles will be selected to give voice to diverse and often under-represented perspectives. Readings about or featuring disabled peoples, persons with autism and other learning differences, and racial and ethnic minorities get highlighted. It’s a club that can examine opportunity gaps related to gender, sexual orientation, religion, age and economic status.

Confronting Racism:  Works by contemporary award-winning thought leaders will be introduced and discussed to understand how they are increasing representation of People of Color in American culture:  Angie Thomas, Jason Reynolds, Ibram Kendi, Jeff Chang, Colson Whitehead, Jesmyn Ward, Trevor Noah, Tiffany D. Jackson, Ta-Nehisi Coates and others.

Fierce!  Focus on Feminism – Issues confronting women provide a focus. Erin in 11th grade has led this club in the past.

Globe Trotters – If travel, history and different cultures (here in the US and around the world) fascinate you, come to promote or develop your cultural insights. We’ll share books, images and articles that develop multicultural understanding. (Example.) If you’ll be traveling soon, this reading group might just help you plan and get more out of your next trip!  Just wait till you see what food we share!

LGBTQ – You have two options:  3rd Tuesday each month, 5pm, Arlington Central Library, coordinated by Arlington Public Library. See Alessandra to join H-B’s club that meets here on campus.

Tawk Politics – It won’t be long till the next election. Gather to hear a variety of political viewpoints and share articles, essays, videos of interest as well as titles recently published by influential political voices. You might even walk away with tips to help with a campaign.

High School TAB – 1st Tuesdays all school year, 5 pm, Arlington Central Library, coordinated by Arlington Public Library.

STEM and Future Problem SolvingTopics and short readings for 2019-2020 are: Gamification, Sleep Patterns, International Travel, Scientific Solutions against Living in Poverty.

Lyrical Works – You might be a budding poet, slam poetry performer or song-writer. Get inspiration from the resources we have to share such as contest dates, novels in verse, and our poetry collections.

Japanime – contact Maggie or Alessandra to step forward to lead this super successful club this year. Lovers of graphic novels really enjoy this creative group of students!

Planning for a Successful Book Club:

  1. Start by announcing and inviting people to an interest meeting in the library at lunchtime, if you like. Making a simple flyer to tack up around the school helps. Want Maggie to advertise it? Pop in to make the arrangements.
  2. It’s helpful if you pick a day and time of the week when you’ll meet and get it onto calendars (Every other Thursday all winter at I Block? Fridays, noon each week all first semester? Figure out if people want to meet weekly or monthly or set up a schedule for every six weeks.)
  3. Share contact information with one another. Spend enough time to get to know names and interests.
  4. Pick a location where you’ll meet (at H-B’s library? –the public library? –at Dunkin’ Donuts? –at specific homes?)
  5. Develop your theme that would draw in like-minded readers.  (For example:  “Fans of Fantasy and Sci Fi” or “World War II Fiction for high schoolers.”  Use it to have everyone invite a friend to the next meeting.)
  6. You want to give your members the chance to nominate and then vote on the books or articles for discussion if you’re all to read and discuss the same title.  Alternatively, you can gather regularly simply to share on WHATEVER books or articles or poetry you are reading.
  7. Make a goal for your group:  “We’ll read and discuss 3 books by Dec. 4.”
  8. Give members enough time to find the books or articles in the library or order them for delivery.
  9. Take turns “running” the meetings if you think people will enjoy structure by applying ideas such as these Tips for Book Discussions.  (It often helps to think of questions to ask before the meeting starts.) If one person is “hosting” the meeting and might get distracted with such duties, consider having someone else run the actual discussion.
  10. If the group agrees, open your discussions to parents and friends to participate.
  11. Last, but vital: It can be fun to put names on the schedule who who is bringing “treats” if, for example, you want to have snacks each meeting.  “If you feed them, they will come.”

See “What to Read Next” for book recommendations.